Uncategorized

Oscars 2010 – My predictions

Considering that I’ve seen the vast majority of contenders for this year’s Oscars, I thought I may as well list my predictions [for the categories that I’m somewhat comfortable with, anyway]. Ok, maybe “predictions” is not quite the right word since there’ll be some bias involved, so maybe it’s more my hopes for how the awards get handed out tomorrow. No, I’ll just do both; my predictions and what I actually want to win.

Pardon my stream of consciousness.

Key:

What I predict will win – italics

What I want to win – bold

Performance by an actor in a leading role

  • Jeff Bridges in “Crazy Heart”
  • George Clooney in “Up in the Air”
  • Colin Firth in “A Single Man”
  • Morgan Freeman in “Invictus”
  • Jeremy Renner in “The Hurt Locker”

Performance by an actor in a supporting role

  • Matt Damon in “Invictus”
  • Woody Harrelson in “The Messenger”
  • Christopher Plummer in “The Last Station”
  • Stanley Tucci in “The Lovely Bones”
  • Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”

Performance by an actress in a leading role

  • Sandra Bullock in “The Blind Side”
  • Helen Mirren in “The Last Station”
  • Carey Mulligan in “An Education”
  • Gabourey Sidibe in “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
  • Meryl Streep in “Julie & Julia”

Performance by an actress in a supporting role

  • Penélope Cruz in “Nine”
  • Vera Farmiga in “Up in the Air”
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal in “Crazy Heart”
  • Anna Kendrick in “Up in the Air”
  • Mo’Nique in “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Best animated feature film of the year

  • “Coraline”
  • “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
  • “The Princess and the Frog”
  • “The Secret of Kells”
  • “Up”

Achievement in art direction

  • “Avatar”
  • “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus”
  • “Nine”
  • “Sherlock Holmes”
  • “The Young Victoria”

Achievement in cinematography

  • “Avatar”
  • “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”
  • “The Hurt Locker”
  • “Inglourious Basterds”
  • “The White Ribbon”

Best documentary feature

  • “Burma VJ”
  • “The Cove”
  • “Food, Inc.”
  • “The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers”
  • “Which Way Home”

Achievement in film editing

  • “Avatar”
  • “District 9”
  • “The Hurt Locker”
  • “Inglourious Basterds”
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

Best foreign language film of the year

  • “Ajami”
  • “El Secreto de Sus Ojos”
  • “The Milk of Sorrow”
  • “Un Prophète”
  • “The White Ribbon” 

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)

  • “Avatar”
  • “Fantastic Mr. Fox”
  • “The Hurt Locker”
  • “Sherlock Holmes”
  • “Up”

Achievement in visual effects

  • “Avatar”
  • “District 9”
  • “Star Trek”

Adapted screenplay

  • “District 9”
  • “An Education”
  • “In the Loop”
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
  • “Up in the Air”

Original screenplay

  • “The Hurt Locker”
  • “Inglourious Basterds”
  • “The Messenger”
  • “A Serious Man”
  • “Up”

Achievement in directing

  • “Avatar”
  • “The Hurt Locker”
  • “Inglourious Basterds”
  • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
  • “Up in the Air”

      Best motion picture of the year

      • “Avatar”
      • “The Blind Side”
      • “District 9”
      • “An Education”
      • “The Hurt Locker”
      • “Inglourious Basterds”
      • “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”
      • “A Serious Man”
      • “Up”
      • “Up in the Air”

      The full list of categories and nominees can be found at the official Oscars Nominations page.

      Standard
      Uncategorized

      LOST – Sundown [spoilers, duh]

      Thoughts:

      • First impressions. Almost seems like this should’ve been aired consecutively with the next one as a two part episode
      • After The Cliffside Cave and The Lighthouse, this ep was relatively light on mythology
      • Where the hell is / what the frak happened to Sawyer?
      • MiB has Sayid, Sawyer and Claire. Possibly Kate, considering where she ended up at the end of the ep
      • Jacob has Hurley… and Jack?
      • What’s the deal with what / who can keep Smokey out? I thought it was the ash, but I doubt there was any surrounding The Temple, and it was instead Dogen.
      • Do Jacob and MiB have certain parts of The Island they can inhabit?
      • MiB is now “free”, so why’s he taking people along for the ride? Does he need another proxy [living], to leave The Island? Or is he just plain evil? That killing spree at The Temple did seem excessive.
      • What’s MiB going to do with all those suckers people?
      • Keamy makes some mean eggs
      • MiB details confirmed: takes the form of someone dead [on-island]  that you know
      • Would Sayid actually have killed him if he didn’t let Flocke blurt out that greeting?
      • I don’t get why Lapidus is there
      • What are the chances we’ll get an Ilana backstory, because she sure as hell knows a lot?
      Standard
      Uncategorized

      Shutter Island: Take Two

      Boy am I glad I watched Shutter Island again. The first viewing, last Thursday, in a terribly inebriated state, resulted in me seeing about 15 minutes of the movie while falling asleep and generally having no idea what the hell was going on. Add to this the not so stellar reviews it’s been getting and I was well within my rights to give it a miss, but the pride I have misplaced in my unofficial movie reviewer role got the better of me.

      Firstly, what’s with all the negativity surrounding it?! Scorsese might have bitten off more than he could chew with that ending and the amount of information that was crammed into it, but god damn the journey there was enjoyable. The score was just perfect, with those heavy, jarring violins so beautifully capturing the mood [apparently it sounds Hitchcockian, like Vertigo], and then there’s the imagery.

      Every second of that first dream sequence was to die for, and seems so far removed from what I’ve seen of Scorsese. I absolutely loved all the war flashbacks and Ward C scene with Jackie Earle Haley, with an oh-so-creepy Michelle Williams towards the end of the movie. I don’t know if I even need to mention DiCaprio, but good lord he totally owns the movie, churning out another spellbinding performance. Can anyone else really pull this kind of role off?

      Media_httpbabbleon5fi_zchra

      Standard
      Uncategorized

      LOST – On-Island Christian Shephard != Smokey/Flocke

      This thought has been whirling around in my mind ever since I re-watched seasons 4 & 5 of LOST, and last week’s ep [Lighthouse] seemingly added another layer of affirmation. Since I wrote out my theory in a rant-worthy fashion on Google Buzz, during a discussion with @snarkle, I thought I may as well regurgitate it here.

      Note: Smokey = Smoke Monster = MiB = Fake Locke = Flocke

      Jacob’s Cabin/Circle of ash 
      The cicle of ash around Jacob’s Cabin is an anti-Smokey mechanism. So, if Smokey’s roaming around the island, the on-island Christian Shephard inside that cabin John Locke sees surely cannot be Smokey. 

      Claire/Lighthouse

      Two quotes from “Lighthouse” sum things up, where Claire seems to make a clear distinction between her father [on-island Christian Shephard] and her friend.

      “First my father told me, and then my friend told me” – Claire, when explaining to Jin how she’s so sure The Others have her baby

      “That’s not John. This is my friend” – Claire, at the end of the episode when Flocke walks into her camp

      What ruins the theory

      There’s just one scene that’s stuck with me that ruins this theory. In “Something Nice Back Home”, Jack, working at St. Sebastian hospital hears the smoke alarm beeping and then sees Christian Shephard. At the time, that smoke alarm going off meant only one thing to me, which sort of ruins the theory that they’re separate entities. Unless… there are two Smoke Monsters…

      Smokey Candidates

      If the two are separate entites, what does it mean? It’s only fair that if Jacob has his candidates, Smokey should be allowed to have some of his own too. Is this what Christian Shephard and Claire Littleton are?

      We haven’t seen Claire doing too much for Smokey, but Christian certainly has:

      • Led Claire away from Aaron [to Smokey?]
      • Seen sitting with Claire in Jacob’s Cabin
      • Crucial in making John Locke believe he had to sacrifice himself, off-island, which I believe was needed for Smokey to take his form when he returned in the coffin
      • Told Sun to wait for John Locke [who was Flocke at this point]

      UPDATE:

      In retrospect, all I needed to say was, Smokey cannot leave The Island. Jack seeing Christian Shephard in “Something Nice Back Home” either disproves this fact [of which a 0% chance exists], or this is a plot hole.

      Standard
      Uncategorized

      LOST – Lighthouse [spoilers, duh]

      Dear god, questions, questions and more questions.

      Thoughts:

      • What’s up with the scars/bruises you can’t quite remember, Doc?
      • Was Jacob pouring his own ashes into the pool? Pre-emptive measure against Smokey going for a swim [I assume that’s who’ll be visiting The Temple]?
      • “Clairousseau” sounds about right
      • Adam and Eve still there at least, and Hurley echoing what many people have already theorised
      • Best. Lighthouse. Ever.
      • That’s one impressive mirror right there! Jacob’s “Looking-Glass“? Nice cross-promotion with Alice in Wonderland coming out next week
      • The Numbers! Again! Looks like only 360 numbers can fit on that thing, with quite a few names being crossed out already
      • I swear Kate is Number 51
        Media_httpiimgurcomcs_hhgeg
      • Who’s Number 108?!
      • Who’s David’s mother? Is she Number 108?
      • Seemingly more affirmation that on-island Christian Shephard != Smokey
      Standard
      Uncategorized

      Salmon Protocol – Unifying the Conversations

      Salmon has come up quite a bit recently, and rightly so, with the talk around Google Buzz. I first heard about it on This Week in Google ep 29, which has some great discussion around Google Buzz from @jyri and @kevinmarks, and it came to mind again today with @scobleizer’s blog post; (Coming soon: the disruptive molecular age of information) so I thought I may as well embed this ridiculously simple slideshow that explains exactly what Salmon is.  
      As updates and content flow in real time around the Web, conversations around the content are becoming increasingly fragmented into individual silos.  Salmon aims to define a standard protocol for comments and annotations to swim upstream to original update sources — and spawn more commentary in a virtuous cycle.  It’s open, decentralized, abuse resistant, and user centric.

      Standard
      Uncategorized

      LOST – The Substitute [spoilers, duh]

      That was mythology overload, right there.

      Thoughts:

      • “What are the odds of you running into a spinal surgeon?” Sounds a lot like Ben Linus of season 3 to me, and very fresh in my mind after my LOST marathon. On that note, there is just so much duality i’m starting to pick up
      • Smokey cam is awesome! I propose a Smokey vs Cloverfield movie
      • Jacob brought them to The Island. He went to them when they were young and/or vulnerable, and manipulated them into making “choices”. They are brought to The Island as potential “candidates”, chosen to protect The Island. Well, that’s what the MiB says anyway. 
      • Was that a kid Jacob that MiB saw?
      • The MiB is also “trapped”, and I guess Sawyer’s his way out
      • Why’s MiB stuck as Locke forever now? Something to do with killing Jacob?
      • *MiB throws the white stone into the ocean* “inside joke” !
      • Very sad to see flash sideways John Locke losing all faith and resigned to his wheelchair existence. “Don’t tell me what I can’t do” is no longer his catchcry it seems
      • Where’s Kate’s number?! HT @marawlings

      Media_httpwwwgetlostp_xlodh

      UPDATE:

      UPDATE #2:

      The Official LOST Audio Podcast: February 22nd, 2010 (19:48)

      Executive Producers Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse discuss the numbers, Claire, zombies and the Flash-sideways.

      if (FlashDetect.installed) { $(‘flash_embed-CoIDbzuwll’).show(); $(‘quicktime_embed-CoIDbzuwll’).hide(); } else { $(‘quicktime_embed-CoIDbzuwll’).show(); $(‘flash_embed-CoIDbzuwll’).hide(); }

        Standard
        Uncategorized

        A Single Man [the movie, not me]

        Movie course day 3, and we are back on the road to awesome, with A Single Man.

        Every single frame of this movie was so meticulously and beautifully shot, and knowing this was Tom Ford’s directorial debut made it all the more impressive; I guess that’s what happens when a fashion designer directs. Some people thought it was overkill [too many close ups, too much color saturation], but I loved every second of it!

        Add to this the large dose of dark humor and a wonderfully depressing cast and story, and you have yourself a great movie.

        Oh, I should probably mention what the movie is actually about, but I might as well let Tom Ford do that.

        “It is a deeply spiritual story, of one day in the life of a man who cannot see his future. It is a universal tale of coming to terms with the isolation that we all feel, and of the importance of living in the present and understanding that the small things in life are really the big things in life.”

        Standard
        Uncategorized

        Google Buzz – An hour or two in…

        Ok, I have it, it’s running, but an hour or two in, I’m even more confused than I was with Wave.

        • First and foremost, I see 37 unread messages, but how the hell do I just skip to the next unread one? It was just spacebar in Wave.
        • How do I pull in my Twitter feed?
        • How do I add my Twitter contacts to Buzz?
        • How do I post from Buzz to Twitter?
        • Can I sort the threads somehow? Specific contacts, groups, unread messages, etc
        • Would love a minimise button next to each thread
        • Clearly I need to create groups to make this understandable
        • The maps integration is awesome, but the mobile site needs Android 2.0+ to work? Lame. Time to head to XDA I guess
        • It has an ‘edit’ button. WIN!
        • Jason Calacanis is spamming my stream >.<

        UPDATE:

        I might as well be meta and include the buzzlet [wtb microsyntax kthxbai] about this post and the associated comments.

        Standard