Uncategorized

LOST – What Kate Does [spoilers, duh]

Another 42 minutes of mind frakking courtesy of LOST.

Thoughts:

  • Nice shout out to season 2’s ‘What Kate Did’
  • Was that Smokey repellent, Dojen [the Japanese dude] blew over Sayid?
  • ETHAN. CLAIRE. DOCTOR. BABY. NEEDLES. PART TWO. CHILLS
  • Damon and Carlton don’t want to use “alternate”, but there are two timelines, and they will somehow come together… or so THEY claim
  • “Because it happened to your sister” *boom* … I guess Jacob didn’t take over Sayid, but this is the start of an explanation of what happened to Claire, and at least the evolution of it will be shown through Sayid; two birds, fine with me
  • Doubts in my mind about whether it’s Jacob or the Man in Black that’s actually evil
  • I don’t even know what’s happened to the real Aaron anymore… He’s staying with Clementine? Or Claire’s mum? So confusing >.<
  • Felt a tad like The Matrix with the whole pill thing
  • Dojen was “brought here (The Island) like everyone else” … they sure as hell better explain this!
  • What’s up with all the weirdness around Ajira and Rousseau? That was unsettling.

I’ll continue to update with DarkUFO and podcast spam as the week goes on.

 

Standard
Uncategorized

The Wolfman

Movie course day two, and I sure as hell didn’t think we’d see The Wolfman. I can see Andrew Urban’s reasoning in giving us a completely different experience to Precious, but this was disappointing.

Biggest gripe, didn’t think there was a solid enough reason that Del Toro’s character became afflicted with the curse in the first place. I feel this has to happen for these types of movies to work, and the redemption angle wasn’t the greatest either.

The gore… Totally unnecessary
and laughable for the most part. I am shit scared in even the weakest horror movies and I found myself laughing in this. And the horror genre “expert” who tried to justify werewolves decapitating people must’ve been smoking something.

If this is supposed to be in the upper echelon of werewolf movies, bring on better made vampire movies please. Mythology wise, they kick so much more ass.

UPDATE:

Almost forgot, every time the CG transformation happened, all I remembered was The Hulk; looked exactly the same.

Standard
Uncategorized

LOST – LA X [spoilers, duh]

It’s back! I was left feeling unsure after the first episode, but by the end of the second, I was well on board and that familiar feeling of my mind trying to comprehend the madness that I just witnessed had returned.

Thoughts:

  • The hydrogen bomb created two timelines?
  • Was The Island at the bottom of the sea Oceanic 815 [the one that didn’t crash] flew over the fate of those from the 70’s timeline we were following? I thought it was initially, but the current 815 flight that landed at LAX seems to be occuring in the same timeframe as the on-island story
  • 3 Locke’s! Wheelchair Locke, Fake Locke and Dead Locke [is Jacob going to ressurect through him somehow? o_O]
  • The Man in Black is the Smoke Monster [aka Fake Locke]
  • Smokey is evil =[ This is still confusing me… I thought Smokey was the Island’s security system. Does this mean that when Ben went along with Fake Locke to Smokey’s lair, Fake Locke slipped away and returned as Smokey?
  • Smokey being evil leads to more questions about what role Mr. Eko could’ve played if he had stuck around on LOST
  • Glad to see they didn’t forget about the other Others that Ben sent with Richard to The Temple, including the old Tail Section crew along with the children, etc
  • Who’s the crazy Japanese dude seemingly in charge at The Temple?
  • Was that Temple the same one Richard went into last season with young Ben? I thought he just went into Smokey’s lair, but that just seemed to be an entrance to the real Temple?
  • What the hell was Desmond doing on 815?!
  • Fake Locke to Alpert: “ It’s good to see you out of those chains” <- A Black Rock reference
  • The Man in Black wants to leave The Island and go “home”, wherever the hell that might be
  • Jacob has taken over Sayid’s body?
  • Kate looked hawt

Other thoughts via DarkUFO:

  • What is the significance of the hand-carved ankh inside the guitar case?
  • Why did Flocke/MIB cut a piece out of Jacob’s tapestry?
  • Why does the ash on the island act as a barrier from the smoke monster? <- So, do we assume that whatever was being contained in the cabin [you know, the one surrounded by that funky ash] is some form of Smokey / Man in Black? It couldn’t have been Jacob’s cabin, could it, since he’s been seemingly living inside the giant foot the whole time?
  • Theory: Why the island is underwater
  • Recap: Things I Noticed – “LA X” by Vozzek69

Why did I even bother calling it “Thoughts”? I see a few statements and a gazillion questions >.< Damon and Carlton, I thought you were going into answer mode, but you’re not helping my poor mind >.<

UPDATE:

The Official LOST Video Podcast 2: February 4th, 2010 (04:11)

What is a flash-sideways? Who is Locke? The Creators & Cast provide some answers.

The Official LOST Audio Podcast: February 4th, 2010 (23:33)

Executive Producers Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse discuss the season premiere of LOST.

if (FlashDetect.installed) { $(‘flash_embed-IGaAwweyCo’).show(); $(‘quicktime_embed-IGaAwweyCo’).hide(); } else { $(‘quicktime_embed-IGaAwweyCo’).show(); $(‘flash_embed-IGaAwweyCo’).hide(); }

Random sidenote: My ankh keychain that I’ve had for years!

Media_httpiimgurcomvp_mgiaa

Standard
Uncategorized

Listen and TWiT

Media_httpiimgurcomx9_nvutu

Listen is a Google Labs experiment and by far my new favourite Android app, and a must for anyone with an Android phone.

Listen is basically a web audio / podcast discovery app that allows you to search, subscribe, download and stream in such a simple way that I found my listen queue filling up pretty quickly. Downloading has been easy & quick enough through 3G; haven’t bothered with WiFi since it downloads speedily and I can actually make a dent into my normally wasted data plan.

You can tell that it’s a Labs experiment though, with a few strange things that stood out initially, but no doubt Google will be all over it soon enough, and I’m eagerly awaiting v1.0.4.

Gripes / Wants:

  • No support to play other audio / other media on your phone – It only played podcasts that are downloaded through Listen, and strangely, it removes the audio extension on anything it downloads, so the file becomes incompatible with other audio apps unless you add in the .mp3 or .m4a extension
  • I thought I’d had an “ah-ha!” moment the other day when I realised I could use the scroll wheel to seek with accuracy, but then found the seek bar to creep back to its original position, with the scroll wheel doing nada
  • Some kind of web / desktop interface tied to your Google account [you need one to use the app anyway] almost seems like a must

Download Listen via the QR code below

Media_httpiimgurcomvd_juaeb

Coincidentally, my love of Listen has a great deal to do with the gloriousness that is TWiT [This Week In Technology]. I humbly apologise to @renny510 and @pkattera for not heeding your advice earlier. I’ll probably have another mini rant about it sometime, but I’m already waiting for the next episode with as much anticipation as I would a JJ Abrams TV show. Luckily there’s a backlog of 200+ episodes that I can fall back on, not to mention the broader TWiT network, with podcasts like TWiG [This Week In Google] and others from Leo and the gang.

Standard
Uncategorized

The LOST Underground Art Project

I remember seeing Damon, Carlton and a Polar Bear a while ago and wanting to buy every single piece on there, but what I didn’t realise was that Gallery1988 actually had an exhibition, and the multitude of other artwork that was on show, with the overarching name for all of this being The LOST Underground Art Project.

Thank you so much to The LOST Underground Art Show for providing an exhaustive gallery [with info on each piece], which has resulted in a cheesy grin being plastered all over my face for the last 20 minutes while I scrolled through it all slowly.

Here are some of my favourites [click each image to embiggen]…

Media_httpi154photobu_ivgev

Media_httpi154photobu_jxtco

Media_httpi154photobu_kahnm

Media_httpi154photobu_whijz

Media_httpi154photobu_rwuxj

Media_httpi154photobu_fpcea

Media_httpi154photobu_ekpdt

Media_httpi154photobu_npkrb

Media_httpi154photobu_bgbhw

Media_httpi154photobu_spdsx

And here’s The Official LOST Video Podcast that covered the event…

Standard
Uncategorized

Single Blip Wavelets

If that title made no sense to you, cast your eyes over the picture below and prepare to be enlightened.

Media_httpcdnmashable_cbfjt

[via Mashable]

All sorted? Excellent. The past couple of days, I’ve been trying out Single Blip Wavelets and have grown to love them; but that was with one other Waver [add that to the terminology list, Mashable]. The big test came today, when we tried it out in the main Wavelet [10+ Wavers], and it went from excitement to disappointment and eventually to hilarity. I think that was the consensus anyway.

Anyway, here’s a list of thoughts & grievances…

  • Leave the Blip in perennial edit mode if possible – i.e. don’t click ‘Done’ / Shift + Enter
  • Always leave a few lines at the bottom of the Blip, so that others can type simultaneously and the issue of unintentionally adding line breaks, mid-someone-else’s-sentence is avoided – assign a buffer b!tch if need be
  • We quickly adapted to using identifiers – first initials, then colours. Now, this would be fine if I wasn’t colour blind, and doubly fine IF YOU COULD SET DEFAULT FONT PREFERENCES FOR YOURSELF … apparently you can’t do that within a Blip yet, and weird inheritance of colours would occur, based on where you were within the Blip, so people had to constantly type something out and then highlight + change font colour. I know it’s a preview and all, but that really does seem like something logical that is associated with every single chat client from the last 10 years
  • People typing in invisotext is bad, m’kay? >.<
  • Ninja editing can cause hell, since it’s a gazillion times harder to identify
  • Lag becomes a non-issue

I swear that list was longer in my mind… Anyway, I still do feel that if a real-time conversation is taking place [everyone is constantly watching / participating in the Wavelet], having it all contained within one Blip really is the way to go; it saves you from lag and clicking like a mad man. Where it falls apart is if people are away from the conversation for an hour or so, and then come back to see paragraphs of text that start to border on incomprehensible, which was interesting considering that we all know each others’ writing nuances fairly well.

I’m sticking with it though, dammit, especially in two-person Wavelets, because it really does kick all kinds of ass over IM programs.

Standard
Uncategorized

The Hat Bender

Flamed by alcohol last night, nostalgia was a hot topic for a good hour or so, and there was one person from primary school I fondly recalled; The Hat Bender.

You see, back in the day, basketball caps were all the rage, and there were three critical success factors to anyone’s basketball cap; it was a Starter, it had six stitches and just the right amount of bend.

The Starter label and six stitches were easy enough to obtain / verify, you just had to pay a premium until those dodgy Asian shops got the memo that eight stitches or four stitches were simply unacceptable.

The bend though, was the elusive part, and harder to get right. There were murmurings of mythical machines in the city that applied just the right amount of bend, but most of us didn’t frequent the city that often, so we had to make do with badly bent caps, and walked around with our heads hanging in shame, but at least protected from the sun.

This all changed one day though, when someone walked in with a new cap that was perfect! Everyone assumed The Kid scored a lucky break and got to meet The Machine, but he proclaimed that he could replicate this bend for a nominal amount.

The anticipation at little lunch [god bless the person that came up with that term] was high, but everyone was equally sceptical, and wondered what was so special about The Kid’s hands. Someone volunteered their hat, The Kid placed it on his knee, and 15 seconds later… *GASP*

Turns out The Kid’s knee was perfectly shaped for the job at hand and a star was born! I do remember him being quite the porker, so I’d like to send a belated thank you to his irresponsible parents.

Sadly, I can’t remember The Kid’s name, or even his face, but his knee has withstood the test of time.

P.S. My first was a Phoenix Suns cap.

P.P.S. Thank you mobile web.

Standard
Uncategorized

TITANICTAR 3D: For your consideration

Awards season is coming up in the movieverse, and next year, I predict there will only be one movie on everyone’s lips – TITANICTAR

A genius feasts on his Beef Rendang and suddenly, achieves a temporary state of enlightenment, and inspires greatness in The Wave.

“So I remembered in a Wave ages ago, we talked about the highest grossing movies of all time. Avatar was Number 2, and Titantic was number 1…  so then it came to me – how awesome would it be if you combined both movies into a new blockbuster!!!!”

“You’re able to project yourself as one of the passengers on a big boat about to sink?”
 
“No no, it’s a love story you see. The main actor projects himself as the SHIP, and the main female actress projects herself as the ICEBERG!!!

And in the final tragic ending, they go down together, the ship sinks and the iceberg melts. Weird alien birds fly into the alien sun and the audience cries!”

“Dicaprio holding alien woman at the front of a spaceship woot”

*fade to black* … TITANICTAR

Additional sub-plot

“We have 4 projected things. One person will project themselves as the Ship, another as the Iceberg, the third as the World’s Most Comfortable Chair and we have a 4th left in case anyone else had some ideas. My suggestion would be that the 4th person projects themselves as James Cameron”

“Maybe the World’s Most Comfortable Chair is the director’s chair, but it is also the chair you sit in to project yourself. So then someone kills James Cameron, has this OTHER chair (World’s Secondmost Comfortable Chair) so that they can project themselves as James Cameron, and THEN sits in the World’s Most Comfortable Chair to commence said projection, only to realise that they are projected as a chair”

Standard
Uncategorized

Voice-overs

I saw Adaptation today, and found this quote, addressed to a screenplay seminar class regarding voice-overs, pretty darn hilarious.

…and God help you if you use voice-over in your work, my friends. God help you. That’s flaccid, sloppy writing. Any idiot can write a voice-over narration to explain the thoughts of a character.

Clearly Kaufman doesn’t take himself too seriously, but then, all I could think of Dexter, and the huge role it plays in that show as a story-telling device. As much as Michael C. Hall can act, it sure has made getting into the mind of a morally ambiguous serial killer a lot easier, and I’m not sure on what level the show would work without it.

And on the topic of serial killers, another choice quote from the movie…

Charlie Kaufman: The only idea more overused than serial killers is multiple personality. On top of that, you explore the notion that cop and criminal are really two aspects of the same person. See every cop movie ever made for other examples of this.

Donald Kaufman: Mom called it “psychologically taut”.

Standard
Uncategorized

Google, Android and the iPhone: A collaborative rant

Well, me starting today’s Wave [a daily thing with high school / uni mates] with Techcrunch’s review of the Nexus One led to some fantastic discussion [it’s normally not tech-heavy at all, which made it even better reading for me], so I’m just going to dump a crapload of it here. Because it’s my blog, and I can! With a few minor edits.

A: “Google’s angle is the open apps community, and how they can nurture collaboration, distribution, encourage participation, and grow loyalty that way. As opposed to Apple’s ease of use (consumption) store.”

B: “Dunno man, I hope it works but I’m kinda doubtful how mass market it will be. Cos Apple’s closed system allows them to control all the content which has both pros and cons, but for the mass market probably more pros”

C: “The iPhone only has ONE PERCENT handset market share… this article just came out today, it sums up things well – Android or iPhone? Wrong Question

Media_httpabovecrowdf_cgafz

B: “Wow, yeah that changes things quite a bit actually. Cos I can imagine Android being the main platform for mid-level smartphones and above. If it ends up replacing Win Mobile or s60 (?), then yeah it’ll actually get a good chunk of the market without crossing over to Apple land. If Android starts appearing on Nokias I might seriously consider going back to a Nokia phone.

One hurdle though would be the hardware that powers it. You’ll probably have varying degrees of enjoyment using the platform. Sony and Nokia have always been a bit slow on adopting the newest processors so it might hurt Android’s chances there. Anyway if the next Nokia N9X series is an Android I will be buying one.”

D: “Sif, give up on Nokia it’s crap.”

E: “Nokia is sticking with Symbian but changing the UI.”

B: “Man Symbian is always changing its UI but it’s never actually that good compared to its competitors. It was great 3 years ago when there was no competition but now it’s different.”

….

F: http://www.wired.com/epicenter/2010/01/analysis-yawn-google-introduces-iphone-clone

E: “Retarded article from an obvious iPhone user.”

D: “So basically you fight his argument by calling him an “iPhone user””

E: “I’m not fighting.”

D: “Doesn’t make any of what he says incorrect. Maybe a bit inflammatory”

E: “No it’s a bit stupid. Google ain’t in the business of making hardware nor do they give a shit about a superphone that has all the features mankind can think of, that isn’t their strategy. Their (nice!) strategy is to have people use Google for email, search, navigation, etc.

What they want is the exposure to the mobile market, exposure to more ad revenues period. Google isn’t in the business of selling stuff to consumers, their business is ad revenue.

I think the guy has lost the point, if they were to make a superphone, the be all and end all of all phones they would piss off their partners (Motorola, Sony Ericsson, etc) who’d probably just abandon the platform. The more phones out there and the more products using Android and using Google specific apps the better their bottom dollar is.”

D: “Look there’s nothing wrong with the phone, but when you brand it GOOGLE PHONE then that’s what it becomes in the market”

C: “They’re not branding it as that. People are

D: If you can buy it through google.com/phone I think it speaks for itself”

C: “Fine”

E: “Dude it’s marketing, Google Phone or a phone by Google gets people interested. Fuck if HTC brought out the same phone no one would give a shit or even notice. But what this has done is brought all the media companies to cover it… If they can use their name to give Android the attention it deserves then all power to them. One thing “Google Phone” has over HTC is awareness.”

D: “I think both articles are right. It’s obvious to me that Google is targeting to be a superphone eventually, and it’s late to the race. But the population of phone users is big enough and diverse enough for both of them to “win” in their own rights

C: It’s all about the $$ from ad revenue

D: “I‘m saying that there is enough market share to go around for everyone, so the article you linked is right and I agree, but that doesn’t change that Google is still aiming to have a superphone

C: Yeh, but I’m saying that that’s a secondary goal. Like, if they thought about it, they’d think, we want all this mobile ad revenue, etc. That’s the first thing, and then, yeh, how the fk do we do that? Create a mobile OS that we can dump on a shitload of phone manufacturers that functions as well as the iPhone OS.

D: “What’s this got to do with anything at all? As proven above it’s still a Google phone. You can pay someone else to do something and endorse it, it’s still your phone

E: You don’t get it, it’s not about the phone, it’s Android they’re pushing. Putting their name on it creates Android awareness, that’s all. If a mainstream consumer were to now walk into a phone store and go can I have a Google phone, they’d be like can I play with it, etc.

They’d understand there’s other shit out there that functions just as well as the iPhone. They’d also be told there are other phones that use the same OS and have different price points, etc.

D: You somehow treat the OS and the phone as two totally separate things. If this was true, then why even bother, and just work with HTC with one of their previous phones to make it work better

E: Come on try selling a HTC phone which has an Android OS and market it compared to selling a Google phone. Fuck half the idiots out there don’t know what an OS is.

D: And those idiots are really going to see the Google phone and go, OH BUT I CAN GET A SAMSUNG WITH THIS SAME OS.

No they’ll just get the Google phone

E: No but it creates awareness about the OS period. That’s the point, I doubt you’ll see many Google branded phones in the future... Ok, let’s say two years later they come for a new phone and there’s a bunch of Android phones, Nokia’s own Symbian OS based phones and the iPhone. What they had before is the Google phone and they want something similar. What do you think they’re going to choose?

D: This is on the assumption that there are no more Google phones. My prediction is, even if this is not what they are anticipating (please), that in 2 years the other phones get edged out and the Google phone becomes the main Android phone in the market.

Regardless of the OS, functionality in the phone trumps all for the consumer, and even now it seems to me the Google phone beats all the other alternatives”

Thanks to you all! I was a mere spectator, and may not necessarily agree with it all, but I loved reading it. Didn’t know how you felt about being named so I stuck with random letters.

Standard